Lighthouse of Madness
- Developer
- Flying Jack Studios
- Publisher
- Flying Jack Productions
- Release date
- Oct 21, 2026
Screenshots
Screenshots supplied with this Steam listing.
Lighthouse of Madness is a first-person puzzle adventure from Flying Jack Studios, set on a remote island near Innsmouth. You play Dorian Cannon, a lighthouse engineer sent to repair older sites and install autonomous systems, with an additional assignment to bring the missing keepers on Darenne Island back to the mainland. Instead, he finds abandoned buildings, a mine, a lighthouse that must be reached and a threat to his sanity. The game is a paid, single-player Windows release with a separate free demo. Its horror atmosphere and a sanity mechanic that worsens over time are central to the choice: this is not simply a relaxed tour of a coastal landscape.
What Dorian is looking for on Darenne Island
The official premise gives Dorian two practical tasks before it becomes a mystery: restore lighthouse systems and locate the team of keepers. The developer does not publish a full map, number of chapters or list of every puzzle. It does identify an abandoned mine, strange island locations and the lighthouse itself as major places of investigation. Those details suggest a route shaped by obstacles and discoveries rather than an open-world survival craft loop. Expect to inspect the environment and reason about how to reach the next area, not to build a base or command the missing crew.
The Lovecraft-inspired setting supplies mood without requiring prior knowledge of a particular story. “Near Innsmouth” is a location cue for the horror tradition, not proof that a named Lovecraft character appears in the game. The developer describes secrets older than humankind and a dark past beneath the island, but it does not disclose the final answer. This guide therefore explains the advertised systems and buying limits without turning a mystery into an invented walkthrough.
Environmental puzzles versus logic puzzles
Flying Jack Studios says the game uses both environmental and logic-based challenges inspired partly by escape rooms. An environmental obstacle asks you to observe a physical place: where a path goes, what a device is connected to, or what an apparently inaccessible room contains. A logic challenge asks you to connect clues before acting. The store does not name the individual puzzle solutions, so advice has to stay at the method level. When stuck, note what the game explicitly shows, distinguish a missing item from a missing interpretation, and recheck places that gained new context after another discovery.
Dorian is described as carrying only a lantern. That makes light and visibility important to the experience, but the Steam description does not say the lantern has a battery meter or can be upgraded. Avoid planning around mechanics the publisher has not confirmed. Instead, use it to inspect dark interiors and look for patterns, symbols or object relationships without assuming that every dim corner hides a mandatory collectible. The difference between observing a room and trying random interactions can make escape-room-style puzzles less frustrating.
Sanity as a time pressure
The store says Dorian's sanity gradually deteriorates over time and affects gameplay. That is a meaningful limit on slow, aimless exploration, but the official page does not specify exact thresholds, recovery items or whether the clock pauses in menus. Treat the mechanic as a reason to work deliberately: first identify the current puzzle's goal, then inspect relevant spaces instead of retracing the whole island without a hypothesis. If the demo is still available, it is the best official way to see whether the pressure feels manageable on your own terms.
A decreasing sanity state is not necessarily a conventional health bar or proof that the game contains combat. Steam lists single-player puzzles and horror, not a weapon system. The publisher's mature-content note mentions horror elements and some substance abuse. Players who dislike psychological pressure or unsettling imagery should consider that warning even though the game does not advertise constant action. No hands-on test of how quickly the sanity mechanic changes was performed for this article.
How it differs from other mysteries on the site
AKIBA LOST also uses suspense, but its published interactions revolve around live-action scenes, branching decisions and character viewpoints. Lighthouse of Madness instead puts the player in a first-person island environment with puzzles and a deteriorating sanity state. We Were Here Tomorrow is another puzzle adventure, yet its central requirement is a partner and communication across two-player perspectives; Lighthouse of Madness is listed as single-player. These are useful format differences, not a claim that one title has better puzzles or scarier moments.
If you want to solve spatial problems at your own keyboard, the island premise is a better fit than a dialogue-led FMV. If you want cooperative problem-solving, the absence of a co-op feature here is decisive. The developer does not advertise multiple endings, replay modifiers or a competitive timer for Lighthouse of Madness, so do not buy it on the assumption that those systems exist.
Demo, launch offer and PC requirements
Steam shows a separate free Lighthouse of Madness demo and a paid base game. The US storefront displayed a $13.99 base price with a 15% introductory offer of $11.89 ending November 5 when checked on October 22, 2026. Prices and taxes vary by region and promotion; check the current purchase button before buying. The demo's listing does not promise save transfer or state how many puzzles it covers. Use it to assess atmosphere, controls and puzzle style, not as a guaranteed first chapter that will seamlessly continue.
The minimum PC requirements shown by Steam are 64-bit Windows 10 or later, an Intel Core i3 at 3.0 GHz or Ryzen 3-class CPU, 8 GB RAM, a GeForce GTX 750 Ti with 4 GB VRAM, DirectX 12 and 15 GB storage. The recommended panel raises memory to 16 GB and names a GTX 1060 6 GB, alongside an i5 or Ryzen 5-class processor. The listing does not advertise native macOS or Linux builds. Steam Deck compatibility has appeared as unknown in the store view; do not equate the controller-support label with a verified handheld experience.
Languages and accessibility limits
The Steam language table marks English interface and subtitles, plus Brazilian Portuguese interface, audio and subtitles. Simplified and Traditional Chinese are listed for interface and subtitles without full audio. Check the live table if a specific narration language matters to you. The feature panel lists achievements, Steam Cloud and Family Sharing, while controller support is shown for Xbox and USB-connected DualShock or DualSense models in the current view. None of those labels proves that every controller configuration or accessibility need is covered; the store's detailed accessibility panel is the better place to confirm a specific setting.
Questions before stepping onto the island
Is Lighthouse of Madness free?
No. Steam sells the complete game and offers a separate free demo. The introductory discount visible on October 22 is temporary, not a permanent free-to-play model. The live store price, regional tax and demo availability should be confirmed before you make a purchase decision.
Is this a multiplayer escape room?
The official store labels Lighthouse of Madness single-player. Its puzzles borrow the feel of escape rooms but are set in Dorian's solo island investigation. There is no advertised co-op mode or requirement to communicate with another player. If shared puzzle-solving is essential, choose a title that explicitly lists two-player support.
Does sanity fall just because time passes?
The developer says sanity gradually deteriorates over time and affects gameplay. It does not publish the exact rate, recovery rules or whether menus pause the system. Try the demo to judge how that pressure feels, and avoid treating an unverified forum strategy as an official rule for the final build.
Is there combat or a weapon upgrade system?
The store emphasizes exploration, a lantern, environmental and logic puzzles, and horror. It does not advertise firearms, combat classes or weapon upgrades. Absence from a store description is not proof that no confrontation ever occurs, but there is no reliable basis to recommend the game as an action-combat purchase.
Can I transfer the demo save to the full game?
The main Steam page presents a demo, but it does not promise that demo progress moves into a purchased copy. If avoiding repeated puzzles is important, check the demo's own notes or a direct developer statement before buying. The presence of Steam Cloud on the full game does not settle demo transfer.
Our take on the choice
Lighthouse of Madness offers a clear combination: a focused island mystery, escape-room-like observations and a sanity system that prevents pure sightseeing. The free demo lowers the risk of buying an atmosphere or puzzle style that does not suit you. Its main caution points are the time-pressure mechanic, horror themes and unverified Steam Deck support. This is an editorial judgment based on Flying Jack Studios' published material, not a hands-on play report or a scored review.
Official sources: Lighthouse of Madness on Steam and the studio's October 22 launch announcement. The Steam API and storefront have shown October 21 and October 22 release dates respectively, likely reflecting display timing; both fall inside this edition's first-release window. Details were checked October 22, 2026.
System requirements
WindowsMinimum
- Requires a 64-bit processor and operating system
- OS: Windows 10 or higher (64-BIT)
- Processor: Intel(R) Core(TM) i3 3.0 GHz | Ryzen 3xxx
- Memory: 8 GB RAM
- Graphics: NVIDIA GeForce GTX 750 Ti 4GB
- DirectX: Version 12
- Storage: 15 GB available space
Recommended
- Requires a 64-bit processor and operating system
- OS: Windows 10 or higher (64-BIT)
- Processor: Intel(R) Core(TM) i5 | Ryzen 5xxx
- Memory: 16 GB RAM
- Graphics: NVIDIA GeForce GTX 1060 6GB
- DirectX: Version 12
- Storage: 15 GB available space
Check the current Steam listing for the latest platform-specific requirements.